We are available 7 day a week to address your roofing needs!
Please call us at (904) 392-0202 or fill out the form below and one of our team members will contact you at the earliest opportunity.
Similar to other roofing material, the strength and durability that metal roofs offer all depends on its installation.
Elsa Roofing has:
Due to its reputation for high performance and its ability to keep homes cool in the summer, metal roofs have become one of the fastest-growing home-improvement choices.
In the Saint Augustine area — where heat, storms, and hail hit hard — metal roofs offer a superior option for homes and businesses that want a roof that will protect them from the elements, as well as last well into the future.
Elsa Roofing has come to the rescue of business owners and homeowners who have had poorly installed or low-quality metal roofs. Our metal roofs are built to last. It’s completely weatherproof, repels hail, and keeps a roof free of algae, moss, and lichen that can deteriorate roofs. Furthermore, when you choose Elsa Roofing to install your metal roof, you will have the added benefit of corresponding with our caring customer support staff throughout the process before, during and after your roof installation. Elsa Roofing is a company you can trust.
Call (904) 392-0202 now for a free quote or click the contact us
The penalty for hiring unlicensed contractor in Florida is outlined in Florida Statutes Section 489.127.3 min read
The penalty for hiring unlicensed contractor in Florida, which is an offense that includes a wide range of conduct pertaining to the home improvement and construction industries, is outlined in Florida Statutes Section 489.127.Overview of Florida Statutes Regarding Unlicensed Contractors
What Unlicensed Contractors Cannot Do
The statutes outline what an unlicensed contractor is not allowed to do. They cannot:
Note that once a qualifying agent is terminated, the business cannot participate in contracting for 60 days unless another qualifying agent has been designated.
In a nutshell, there are nine ways a person can be in a position to commit a crime by being an unlicensed contractor in Florida. Should proof of such a violate be evident, it is sufficient to sustain a conviction in a court of law.
Unlicensed contracting can be either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the facts. The first offense can result in a first-degree misdemeanor that will include penalties or the person receiving 12 months of probation, up to one year in jail, and a $1,000 fine. Further offenses are deemed third-degree felonies under Florida Statute 775.083. A third-degree felony can incur up to five years in prison or probation and a $5,000 fine.
Additionally, any offense committed by an unlicensed contractor during a state of emergency declared by the governor is a third-degree felony.
Along with the potential for time in jail and subsequent fines, a person who is either convicted or pleads to a charge of contracting without a license is often subject to court-ordered restitution. Restitution can lead to awards in the tens of thousands of dollars. If the person fails to pay or does not pay in a timely manner, the defendant can be held in contempt of court.
According to Section 713.02(7) of the Florida Statutes, an unlicensed contractor or subcontractor shall have no liens in their favor.
Contracts entered into by an unlicensed contractor are unenforceable in law or in equity. The unlicensed contractor may also lose their bond claim.
Clarification of Definitions
Allowed to Do
According to Florida Statutes Section 489.101, a contractor is a person or company providing materials or labor to perform a project for compensation. The person will submit a bid and then take on the project themselves or hire others to work on the project, which may include:
Unlicensed contractors generally do not offer a contract, nor do they have lien rights. Their services are usually less expensive than those of a licensed contractor. Legally, you are not obligated to pay an unlicensed contractor.
Even if you knew the contractor was not licensed before entering into a contract, the contractor and the applicable surety are liable for incomplete work or poor workmanship.
In Florida, a person involved in contracting must be certified, licensed, or registered for the specific areas of the work being performed. The purpose of these requirements is the protection of consumers against those who have not fulfilled the requirements set forth by the State of Florida regarding educational requirements to attain state licensing. These requirements also exist to ensure the safety of Florida citizens.
If you need help with the penalty for hiring an unlicensed contractor in Florida, you can post your legal need on UpCounsel's marketplace. UpCounsel accepts only the top 5 percent of lawyers to its site. Lawyers on UpCounsel come from law schools such as Harvard Law and Yale Law and average 14 years of legal experience, including work with or on behalf of companies like Google, Menlo Ventures, and Airbnb.
If you are contracting without a license and doing work in Davis Shores in Saint Augustine with no license and with outdated permits.... Please do not write a negative review about us not providing a proposal. If we deemed the repairs to be 25% or more of the roof, it must be completely replaced by Florida laws. If you are an actual licensed contractor you would now this and not try to bully a repair instead of a replacement.
There is no "Handyman" license in Saint Johns County. You must register with the Saint Johns County Buildings Department to work in Saint Johns County. If you are the real estate company/developer/owner of the property you are guilty too. You know the permits have expired.
Also, check your spam box or missed calls of your associates to see it they got the message that we can not provide you with the roofing services you requested. Maybe there was a wrong number dialed, the person never saw the missed call, screened the call, or the text message did not get received.
When you hand out a business card with your name, contracting service, and phone number you must have your license number on it. You are contracting without a license.
We do report unlicensed contracting to the proper authorities.